Scintilla Academy

Welcome to Scintilla Academy. We hope you enjoy your stay, make new friends, and become a better duelist. Make sure to get a tester for yourself and join the chat and/or make an intro before anything else. And most of all, we hope you have fun~

    Safe Zone Ruling

    Share

    Guest
    Guest

    Safe Zone Ruling

    Post  Guest on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:39 pm


    Card Name: Safe Zone

    Card Type: Continuous Trap Card (Spell Speed 2)

    Condition: None

    Cost: None

    Does This Card Target: Yes

    Card Text: Activate by selecting 1 face-up Attack Position monster. That monster cannot be targeted or destroyed by your opponent's card effects, or be destroyed by battle. It cannot attack your opponent directly. When this card is removed from the field, destroy that monster. When that monster is removed from the field, destroy this card.

    Ruling:

      *If Safe Zone was activated as chain link in response to a card like Mystical Space Typhoon, then Safe Zone will resolve first targeting a face-up Attack Position monster and equipping itself to it, then Mystical Space Typhoon will activate destroying Safe Zone, and Safe Zone will destroy the equipped monster.

      *If Safe Zone was activated and a in response a card like Mystical Space Typhoon is a chain link to it, Mystical Space Typhoon will destroy Safe Zone first, then Safe Zone will continue targeting the target but will not destroy the targeted monster at resolution.

      *If the battle position of the monster targeted by Safe Zone changes, Safe Zone will still apply its effect and equip to the targeted monster.

      *If the monster targeted by Safe Zone is no longer on the field, Safe Zone will continue to remain on the field.

      * Your opponent will always be the opponent of the controller of Safe Zone.
      -If you equip this card to your opponent's monster, their monster can still attack your Life Points Directly
      -The equipped monster cannot be destroyed by battle
      -Your opponent cannot target or destroy that card with their own card effects.
      -You can still target and destroy that card with your own card effects.

      *The effect of Safe Zone to destroy the equipped monster does not activate.

      *If Safe Zone is chained to an opponent's card effect that targets a monster on your side of the field and Safe Zone is targeting the same monster, then the opponent's card effect will still take place because it was pass the point of targeting.
      Ex.
        Player A activates Forbidden Lance and targets Player B's Photon Papiloperative
        Player B Chain's Safe Zone and targets his/her Photon Papiloperative
        Chain Link 1: Compulsory Evacuation Device
        Chain Link 2: Safe Zone
        Chains Resolve
        Chain Link 2: Safe Zone resolves on Photon Papiloperative
        Chain Link 1: Compulsory Evacuation Device returns Photon Papiloperative


      *Stardust Dragon cannot negate the effect of Safe Zone because its effect to destroy the equipped monster does not activate.


    Spirit Reaper vs Safe Zone
    If you target your own Spirit Reaper with Safe Zone, Spirit Reaper will be destroyed after the resolution of Safe Zone.
    If you target a Spirit Reaper with Safe Zone on either side of the field, it is destroyed regardless of its effect.
    avatar
    JudgmentPrincess

    Posts : 23
    Join date : 2012-12-19

    Re: Safe Zone Ruling

    Post  JudgmentPrincess on Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:10 pm

    So even if someone took control of your monster and you safezone it >.>

      Current date/time is Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:39 am