Scintilla Academy

Welcome to Scintilla Academy. We hope you enjoy your stay, make new friends, and become a better duelist. Make sure to get a tester for yourself and join the chat and/or make an intro before anything else. And most of all, we hope you have fun~

    Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating


    Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating Empty Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

    Post  Guest on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:41 pm

    What does is it mean to Negate?
    Negating can either mean to remove the existence of or to block off.

    What forms of Negate are there?
    There are:
      Negating Effects - Stops Spell/Trap and Monster Effects from taking place, but they're activation resolves normally in a chain link.
      Negating Activations - Stops Spell/Trap and Monster Effects from taking place, and removes their existence in a chain link.
      Negating Summons - Stops Monsters with inherent summons from being summoned, if a Nomi or Semi-Nomi monster summon is negated, it cannot be Special Summoned by any means until it returns to the Hand or Deck.

    How does Negating work?
    This rule only applies to Negating the Summon or the Activation of a card. To negate a card, you must chain the Negating card directly to the Spell/Trap or Monster you want to negate. You cannot wait 1 or 2 chain links before deciding to negate it.

      Ex 1.

      Devan has Compulsory Evacuation Device and Solemn Warning and Emma has Light Pulsar Dragon and Plaguespreader Zombie on the Field with no cards in Hand.

      Emma Synchro Summons Void Ogre Dragoon
      Devan responds with Compulsory Evacuation Device
      Emma negates with Void Ogre Dragoon's Effect
      Chain Link:
      Chain Link 1 Compulsory Evacuation Device
      Chain Link 2 Void Ogre Dragoon
      Chain Link 2 Void Ogre Dragoon negates the activation of Compulsory Evacuation Device
      Chain Link 1 Compulsory Evacuation Device returns Void Ogre Dragoon
      End of Chain
      Devan cannot negate the sumon of Void Ogre Dragoon with Solemn Warning at this point.

      Ex 2.

      Fluffytots has Deepsea Diva, Atlantean Infantry, and Mermail - Megaloabyss in his hand, and I have Stardust Dragon on the Field. If he uses uses Mermail - Megaloabyss's effect and sends both Deep Sea Diva and Atlantean Infantry to the Graveyard and Special Summons Mermail - Megaloabyss, the chain link would look something like this:

      Since Mermail - Megaloabyss and Atlantean Infantry has the same activation clause and are activated at the same time, Fluffytots can place them in any position he wants in Chain Links 1 and 2, in this case it'll be:

      Chain Link 1: Atlantean Infantry targets Stardust Dragon
      Chain Link 2: Mermail - Megaloabyss

      I cannot respond with Stardust Dragon to negate the activation of Atlantean Infantry because Mermail - Megaloabyss has taken Stardust Dragon's negation slot. So the chain link resolves:

      Chain Link 2: Mermail - Megaloabyss adds Abyss-Sphere to his hand
      Chain Link 1: Atlantean Infantry destroys Stardust Dragon.

      Ex 3.

      Stephanie has Dark Hole in her hand, and DAReezan has Shooting Quasar Dragon and Light and Darkness Dragon (800 ATK/400 DEF) on the Field. If Stephanie activates Dark Hole, Light and Darkness Dragon (as a mandatory effect) will attempt to negate the activation and activates its effect; so the chain link will look like this:

      Chain Link 1: Dark Hole
      Chain Link 2: Light and Darkness Dragon

      Shooting Quasar cannot negate Dark Hole because Light and Darkness Dragon intervenes the two cards, so Shooting Quasar Dragon is only allowed to negate Light and Darkness Dragon or nothing at all.

    Light and Darkness Dragon and Doomcaliber Knight Questions breakdown:
    If 2 or more copies of Doomcaliber Knight and/or Light and Darkness Dragon are on the Field and lets say a monster Effect Activates (to have the situations the same for both of them), the Doomcaliber Knight/Light and Darkness Dragon that is chained directly after the the Monster Effect will the one that negates and the other will just activate their effects with no negation.

    Commonly asked questions:

    Why can't I negate a Fusion Summoned monster or a Ritual Summoned monster with Solemn Warning/Judgement?
    You cannot negate the summon of those monsters because they are summoned at the resolution of a card effect. Allowing them to summon is pretty much passing up the opportunity to negate.

    Why can't I negate Geartown or Fusion Gate with Solemn Warning?
    Solemn Warning can only negate Spell/Traps that special summon when they are activated. When Geartown and Fusion Gate are activated, they do not special summon. If they activate their effects to Special Summon, you still would not have the opportunity to activate Solemn Warning because it lacks the text "When a Spell, Trap, Spell/Trap effect, or Effect Monster's effect is activated" (text from Stardust Dragon).

    If Solemn Warning/Judgement has the word "When a monster is Special Summoned...." there would be a possibility for it to negate Ritual Summoned monsters and Fusion Summoned monsters, but since it does not, try settling for Absolute Crusader, Steelswarm Roach, or Heroic Champion - Gandiva.

      Current date/time is Mon Nov 11, 2019 6:44 pm