Scintilla Academy

Welcome to Scintilla Academy. We hope you enjoy your stay, make new friends, and become a better duelist. Make sure to get a tester for yourself and join the chat and/or make an intro before anything else. And most of all, we hope you have fun~

    Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

    Share

    Guest
    Guest

    Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

    Post  Guest on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:43 pm

    There has been questions about if you can chain Bottomless Trap Hole to Torrential Tribute and Mirror Force to Magic Cylinder. The answer..... is yes you can.

    Why is this you may ask?
    You can still respond to 1 Summon or Attack with multiple cards that responds to the specified action as long as it is in the same chain as the responding card and it's activation condition is met.

    Can I chain Solemn Warning to the summon later in a chain?
    No you cannot. If you respond with Bottomless Trap Hole and he/she responds with Forbidden Lance, you cannot chain with Solemn Warning to the summon because, by activating a non-Counter Trap, you have allowed the summon. For you to activate Solemn Warning, or any card that negates a summon, to a summon, you must activate it directly to the summon as Chain Link 1, no later.

    Can I respond to an attack even though it is Chain Link 2 or higher?
    Yes you can. As long as the it is in the same Chain Link as the first card that responded to the summon, you can activate cards link Mirror Force at Chain 18 or whatever. This applies for Summon Response cards as well.

    Can I activate Mirror Force or Torrential Tribute, after a Chain Resolves?
    No, 1 Chain Link per action.

    The examples will sound silly, but it is a rule in Yu-Gi-Oh! and it will help you get ahead of your opponent

    Ex.

    Response to a Summon

    Player A has Wind-Up Magician, Wind-Up Shark, Forbidden Lance, and Mystical Space Typhoon in Hand.
    Player B has Torrential Tribute and Chain Disappearance set and Effect Veiler in hand.

      Player A Normal Summons Wind-Up Magician and activates Wind-Up Shark to the Summon.
      Player B responds with Torrential Tribute
      Player A responds with Forbidden Lance
      Player B responds with Effect Veiler
      Player A responds with Mystical Space Typhoon targeting Player B's last set card
      Player B responds with Chain Disappearance
      Chain Link Resolves
      Chain Link 6: Chain Disappearance banishes Wind-Up Magician and all copies in Player A's deck and hand.
      Chain Link 5: Mystical Space Typhoon destroys Chain Disappearance
      Chain Link 4: Effect Veiler effect resolves, but loses its target
      Chain Link 3: Forbidden Lance resolves, but loses its targets
      Chain Link 2: Torrential Tribute destroys all monsters on the field
      Chain Link 1: Player A Special Summons Wind-Up Shark.



    Response to an attack

    Player A has Evolsaur Laggia (2 XYZ Materials) on the Field, Book of Moon, Compulsory Evacuation Device, and Trap Stun set on the Field.
    Player B has Mirror Force, Magic Cylinder, and Dimensional Prison set on the Field and D.D. Crow in Hand.

      Player A declares an attack with Evolsaur Lagger
      Player B responds with Dimensional Prison and targets Evolzar Laggia
      Player A activates Evolsaur Laggia's effect
      Player B responds with Mirror Force
      Player A responds with Trap Stun
      Player B responds with Magic Cylinder and targets Evolsaur Laggia
      Player A responds with Book of Moon and targets Evolzar Laggia
      Player B responds with D.D. Crow and targets 1 Xyz Material in the Graveyard
      Chain Link Resolves
      Chain Link 7: D.D. Crow banishes the Xyz Material
      Chain Link 6: Book of Moon sets Evolzar Laggia
      Chain Link 5: Magic Cylinder resolves, loses its target
      Chain Link 4: Trap Stun negates all Trap Card effects
      Chain Link 3: Mirror Force resolves with no effect
      Chain Link 2: Evolzar Laggia negates Dimensional Prison's activation
      Chain Link 1: Dimensional Prison resolves


    If any of the information provided is false, please present the issue or provide proof of the updated ruling instead of giving this ruing a negative vote.

    If I missed anything and/or if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reply to this post.
    avatar
    JudgmentPrincess

    Posts : 23
    Join date : 2012-12-19

    Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

    Post  JudgmentPrincess on Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:01 am

    This ruling is dumb
    avatar
    IceKitten

    Posts : 1
    Join date : 2012-12-19
    Age : 30
    Location : England, UK

    Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

    Post  IceKitten on Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:25 am

    Dimensional Prison would lose it's target. I think x.x

    Sponsored content

    Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

    Post  Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:49 pm